Prudential Ride London 100

Prudential Ride London Surrey 100This is my first post about my involvement in the biggest UK cycling event this year. Whether you like cycling or not, you’d have to have been living on another planet to have missed the resurgence of British cycling last year, with Bradley Wiggins winning the Tour de France and gold at the Olympics, and all the other British successes of Chris Hoy, Victoria Pendleton, Mark Cavendish and a host of others.

2013 could have been anti-climactic, but we have the prospect of Chris Froome following Wiggo’s success in this years Tour de France, and further British progress in the Giro d’Italia and the Vuelta a Espana.  On the back of all this there’s been a boom in the popularity of cycling in this country, and the biggest news of all is the organisation of the inaugural Prudential Ride London 100 on the first weekend of August.  This is planned to be the biggest cycling event in the world, with 20,000 riders covering 100 miles on closed roads from the Olympic Park out through Surrey and back to finish on The Mall.  Already this is on a par with the London Marathon, and entries have had to be decided by a lottery.

The Cardiomyopathy Association (CMA) secured places for eight riders and because the CEO, Robert Hall, knows cycling is one of my sports I’ve been granted a place on the CMA team.  I’m already involved in several other fundraising efforts this year, but I hope my friends and colleagues will support me: no way could I resist this chance of a lifetime to take part in a weekend of cycling events that will involve many of my cycling heroes and heroines.

I enjoy riding sportives although in deference to my age and my heart condition I tend to ride the middle distance options, leaving the Epic routes to the whippets and chain gangs.  I’ve ridden two charity centuries in the past, both for Action Research… one when I was thirty, and another when I was forty.  At sixty-two, this one is definitely a tough challenge but one that I’m looking forward to, whatever happens.  Look out for more posts here over the last few months of my preparations.

This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

